Faculty

Contact Research Interests
Caitlin Bletscher
Clinical Assistant Professor
caitlin.bletscher@wsu.edu
509-335-9299
Johnson Tower 615, Pullman
  • Center for Transformational Learning and Leadership
  • Instructor and Global Experience Coordinator
Christopher Blodgett
Director, Child & Family Research Unit
blodgett@wsu.edu
509-358-7679
ROP-300B, Spokane
  • Mental health
  • High risk families
  • Substance abuse
  • Complex trauma
Cory Bolkan
Associate Professor
bolkan@wsu.edu
360-546-9336
McClaskey 229, Vancouver
  • Adult development and aging
  • Mental health in later life
  • Personality development
  • Family gerontology
Brenda Boyd
Associate Professor
boydb@wsu.edu
509-335-9642
Johnson Tower 508, Pullman
  • Early childhood care and education
  • Issues of the child care work force
  • Play as a developmental process for young children
  • Child care staff retention and turnover
  • Outcome assessment in early childhood education
Matthew Bumpus
Associate Professor
mbumpus@wsu.edu
509-335-3816
Johnson Tower 522, Pullman
  • Work and family, especially concerning linkages between work-related stress and family processes
  • Mother-child and father-child relationships
  • Parental monitoring/knowledge
  • Social development during middle childhood and adolescence
Michael Cleveland
Associate Professor
michael.cleveland@wsu.edu
509-335-2870
Johnson Tower 516, Pullman
  • Emerging Adult Development with Emphasis on Underrepresented and High-Risk Youth
  • Substance Abuse Etiology, Treatment, and Recovery
  • Prevention Science
  • Social Contextual Factors and Health Behavior
  • Advanced Quantitative Methods, including Latent Variable (e.g., SEM), Finite Mixture (e.g., LCA), and Multilevel Models
Robby Cooper
Clinical Assistant Professor
robby.cooper@wsu.edu
509-335-2442
Johnson Tower 601A, Pullman
  • Leisure Behavior Across the Lifespan
  • Program Evaluation
  • Emerging Adulthood
  • Outdoor Recreation Behavior
  • Adventure Recreation Behavior
  • Public Land Management
Brittany Cooper
Assistant Professor
brittany.cooper@wsu.edu
509-335-2896
Johnson Tower 510, Pullman
  • Early Childhood Development
  • Social-emotional Development and Self-regulation
  • Prevention Science
  • Dissemination and Implementation Science, Translational Research
  • Finite Mixture Models (e.g., Latent Class Analysis)
Mary Katherine Deen
Extension Diversity Director, Family & 4-H Youth Development Specialist
mdeen@wsu.edu
509-682-6956
Wells Hall 1060, Wenatchee
  • Life skills development through positive youth development
  • Impact of cultural competency skills trainings
  • Culturally competent adaption of community programs
Marcelo Diversi
Associate Professor
diversi@vancouver.wsu.edu
360-546-9170
McClaskey 230, Vancouver
  • Decolonizing ways of knowing
  • Identity development in educational contexts among disenfranchised youth and families
  • Ethnography of street youth
  • Issues of interpretation and representation in the social sciences
Deborah Handy
Associate Professor
handy@wsu.edu
509-335-2935
Johnson Tower 519, Pullman
  • Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher recruitment processes
  • School violence
  • Student success in distance education
Holly Henning Yeager
Clinical Assistant Professor
holly.henningyeager@wsu.edu
509-335-4562
Johnson Tower 610, Pullman
  • Center for Transformational Learning and Leadership
  • Instructor and Career Experience Coordinator
Joseph Hewa
Instructor, Internship Coordinator
joseph.hewa@wsu.edu
509-335-8678
Johnson Tower 601B, Pullman
Laura Hill
Chair, Professor, Extension Specialist
laurahill@wsu.edu
509-335-8478
Johnson Tower 501A, Pullman
  • Translation, implementation, evaluation and scale-up of prevention and health promotion programs in real-world settings
  • Brief interventions in values and commited action, supporting students and parents of students transitioning to college
  • Parent-child relationships in adolescence and young adulthood
Lindsay Krupke
Instructor
lkrupke@wsu.edu
509-335-7898
WSUCC 150A, Pullman
Jane Lanigan
Academic Director and Associate Professor
jlanigan@vancouver.wsu.edu
360-546-9715
McClaskey 225, Vancouver
  • Childhood obesity prevention
  • Child feeding practices
  • Young children’s health knowledge
  • Effect of new technologies and media
  • Systems for supporting quality child care
  • Support for military families
Adair Lawrence
Instructor
alawr@wsu.edu
509-335-7943
WSUCC 150B, Pulllman
  • Feeding young children in group settings
  • Developmentally appropriate practice in early childhood care and education
  • NAEYC Accreditation and Validation
  • Parent/child/teacher relationships – creating a caring community for children
  • Parent education
Kristine Munholland
Clinical Assistant Professor
kristine.munholland@wsu.edu
360-546-9665
McClaskey 220, Vancouver
  • Attachment processes and relationships
  • Parent-child relations
  • Child and adolescent social/emotional development
  • Grief, loss, and bereavement
  • Professional development in social services and health care
Deb Nelson
Instructor
nelsondeb@wsu.edu
509-335-0488
Johnson Tower 517, Pullman
Louise Parker
Professor and Extension Family Development Specialist
parker@wsu.edu
206-327-9499
Seattle, WA
  • Real world implementation of evidence-based prevention programs
  • Cultural adaptation of evidence-based programs
  • Integrated research and extension programming
Mary Kay Patton
Clinical Assistant Professor
marykay.patton@wsu.edu
509-335-1425
Johnson Tower 617, Pullman
  • Assistant Director, Center for Transformational Learning and Leadership
Patricia Pendry
Associate Professor
ppendry@wsu.edu
509-335-8365
Johnsonn Tower 523, Pullman
  • Family stress and functioning
  • Effects of human animal interaction (equine assisted interventions)
  • HPA axis activity and child development
Sammy Perone
Assistant Professor
sammy.perone@wsu.edu
509-335-8659
Johnson Tower 516, Pullman
  • Early childhood development
  • Connections among learning, cognitive, and brain development
  • Emergence of executive function
  • Early intervention and school readiness
  • Dynamic systems theory and neural networks
Jeanie Pittman
Instructor
jpittman@wsu.edu
208-743-6807
Johnson Tower 501, Pullman
Thomas Power
Professor
tompower@wsu.edu
509-335-3814
Johnson Tower 513, Pullman
  • Social Development
  • Parent-Child Relations
  • Stress, Coping, and Health Behaviors
  • Children’s Play
  • Obesity Prevention
Kimberly Rhoades
Assistant Professor
kimberly.rhoades@wsu.edu
509-335-2772
Johnson Tower 524, Pullman/McClaskey 214, Vancouver

The development and prevention of conduct problems, including aggression, delinquency, and substance use, from infancy to emerging adulthood.

  • The influence of family hostility and stress on the development of these behaviors over time.
  • The interplay between genetic influences and hostile/stressful family environments as it relates to the development of these behaviors over time.
  • The potential role of child sleep as a mechanism in the association between hostile and stressful family environments and conduct problems over time.
Kathleen Rodgers
Associate Professor
rodgersk@wsu.edu
509-335-2973
Johnson Tower 521, Pullman
  • Adolescent sexuality and romantic relationships
  • Media and adolescent well-being
  • Adolescent and emerging adult sexual violence prevention
  • Parent-adolescent relationships and communication
Amy Salazar
Assistant Professor
amy.salazar@wsu.edu
360-546-9733
McClaskey 225, Vancouver
  • Child welfare system
  • Aging out of foster care
  • Developing, adapting, and testing interventions
  • Program evaluation
  • Maltreatment, trauma, and PTSD
  • LGBTQ youth well-being
Yoshie Sano
Associate Professor
yoshie_sano@vancouver.wsu.edu
360-546-9124
McClaskey 219, Vancouver
  • Family relationships
  • Rural family poverty
  • Family health promotion in rural settings
Suzanne Smith
Associate Professor
smithsu@vancouver.wsu.edu
360-546-9714
McClaskey 201, Vancouver
  • Parent-child relationships
  • Work-family balance
  • Parenting and family relationship patterns among the Hutterites
  • Women in poverty in rural areas
Elizabeth Soliday
Associate Professor
esoliday@wsu.edu
360-546-9727
McClaskey 231, Vancouver
  • Women’s evidence-based decision making in birth and birth care
  • Integrative health approaches in treating perinatal concerns
  • Mixed methods research approaches
Tracy Tachiera
Instructor
ttachiera@vancouver.wsu.edu
360-546-9615
McClaskey 227, Vancouver
Sara Waters
Assistant Professor
sara.f.waters@wsu.edu
360-546-9272
McClaskey 226, Vancouver
  • The development of healthy emotional and physiological regulation in early life with a focus on the role of the parent-child attachment relationship as a protective and socializing influence.
Elizabeth Weybright
Assistant Professor
elizabeth.weybright@wsu.edu
509-335-2130
Johnson Tower 512, Pullman
  • Adolescent development
  • The role of leisure and free-time in risk behavior and healthy development
  • Positive youth development
  • Substance use
Anna Whitehall
Clinical Assistant Professor
awhitehall@wsu.edu
509-335-0462
Johnson Tower 616, Pullman
  • Center for Transformational Learning and Leadership
  • Instructor, Facilitator, and Coordinator for HD 205 Online
Denise Yost
Clinical Assistant Professor
yost@wsu.edu
509-335-8403
Johnson Tower 619, Pullman
  • Director, Center for Transformational Learning and Leadership