Graduate Students

Name Email Address Phone # Location Research Interests
Paula Adams padams@wsu.edu  509-335-7884 Pullman
  • Integration of practice and research in college health promotion
Alana Anderson alana.anderson@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
  • Early childhood cognitive development and executive function interventions
Veronica Bonilla v.bonilla-pacheco@wsu.edu 509-335-7352 Pullman
  • Emotion regulation development in early childhood and how parent-child relationships contribute to developmental processes
Victoria Braun victoria.braun@wsu.edu  N/A Pullman
  • Young adult suicide and upstream suicide prevention; mental and emotional health promotion; social connectedness and identity
Alexa Carr alexa_carr@wsu.edu  509-335-5026 Pullman
  • Incorporation of animal assisted interventions into novel and pre-existing prevention programming
Eleanor Dizon eleanor.dizon@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
  • The role of parent-child relationships in emerging adulthood and how these relationships may inform the development of parent-based interventions
Zena Edwards zena_edwards@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
  • Health communications and childhood obesity prevention
Angie Funaiole angie.funaiole@wsu.edu 509-335-5476 Pullman
Marie Gray marie.gray@wsu.edu  N/A Pullman
Briana Hernandez briana.hernandez@wsu.edu  N/A Pullman
Jackelyn Hidalgo jackelyn.hidalgo@wsu.edu 509-335-7352 Pullman
  • Childhood obesity prevention
Karen Higgins karen.higgins@wsu.edu N/A Vancouver
Katherine Hirchak katherine.hirchak@wsu.edu N/A Spokane
  • Substance use disorders among American Indian/Alaska Natives
Myah Houghten houghten@wsu.edu 509-358-7644 Spokane
Tricia Hughes thughes@wsu.edu  N/A Pullman
  • Research into practice and brief interventions for young adults
Leah Hyman leah.hyman@wsu.edu 509-335-5476 Pullman
Alexandra Jackson alexandra.m.jackson@wsu.edu N/A Vancouver
  • Obesity prevention and treatment
Valerie Jarvensivu valerie.jarvensivu@wsu.edu N/A Vancouver
Garrett Jenkins garrett.jenkins@wsu.edu  509-335-5476 Pullman
  • Application of advanced quantitative methods in the analysis of prevention program implementation and evaluation efforts
Eunsaem Kim ekim2@wsu.edu  509-335-8678 Vancouver
  • Well-being of older adults with dementia; innovative dementia care interventions; stress process model for individuals with dementia
Stephanie Kuzara stephanie.kuzara@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
Amanda Lamp alamp@wsu.edu N/A Spokane
  • Sleep and performance in avaiation, with an emphasis on Fatigue Risk Management Systems (FRMS)
Jennifer Lawrence jennifer.h.lawrence@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
  • Early intervention for children and families as a means of promoting health and well-being for individuals, families, and communities
Nathan Lee nathan.p.lee@wsu.edu  N/A Vancouver
  • Gene-expression and psychoneuroendocrinological outcomes; mindfulness; stress-reactivity and resilience; human-animal interactions
SuYeon Lee suyeon.lee@wsu.edu 509-335-2923 Vancouver
  • Influence of parent-child relationships on emotion socialization in early and middle childhood
Cristina McAllister cristina.mcallister@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
  • Parent-adolescent communication through the use of media
Shane McFarland shane.mcfarland@wsu.edu 509-432-9213 Pullman
  • Risk and protective factors, influences of physical activity and exercise with regards to preventing undesired health outcomes, violence prevention, and understanding the intersection of research and rigorous program evaluation
Amanda McMahon amanda.mcmahon@wsu.edu  N/A Pullman
  • Promoting the overall health of people with disability through exercise and the practice of mindfulness
Kyle Murphy kyle.t.murphy@wsu.edu  509-335-5476 Pullman
  • Risk/protective factors in emerging adulthood; social-emotional development; translation and implementation science
Emma Noyes emma.noyes@wsu.edu N/A Spokane
  • Culturally-responsive positive youth development to promote resiliency and positive outcomes in Native American communities
Katy Pietz katy.pietz@wsu.edu N/A Pullman
  • Sports related concussion prevention
Faith Price faith.price@wsu.edu  N/A Pullman
Guadalupe Ramos guadalupe.g.ramos@wsu.edu 509-335-7352 Pullman
  • Parental influences on children’s coping
Stephanie Roeter sroeter@wsu.edu  509-335-5026 Pullman
  • Human-animal interaction particularly within equine assisted activities and therapy programs
Gitanjali Shrestha gshrestha@wsu.edu 509-335-5502 Pullman
  • Statistical methods that can be used to evaluate prevention programs in non-experimental settings
Karina Silva Garcia kari.silva@wsu.edu 509-335-7352 Pullman
  • Childhood obesity prevention
Crystal Smith crystal.lederhos@wsu.edu N/A Spokane
  • Drug abuse prevention within families and among adolescents
Mashonda Smith mashonda.smith@wsu.edu 509-335-0087 Pullman
  • Exploring research-based risk and protective factors associated with student-teacher relationships among high-risk status students’ developmental and academic outcomes
Senait Tekle senait.tekle@wsu.edu 509-335-5502 Pullman
  • Use of prevention science to promote health equity and improve health and well-being of young adults
Jaymie Vandagriff jaymie.vandagriff@wsu.edu 509-335-2923 Pullman
  • Prevention programming that incorporates human-animal interaction
Jason Wheeler jdwheeler@wsu.edu 509-335-2918 Pullman
  • Prevention of gender based violence by exploring risk factors including how media influences attitudes and behaviors