College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences

Executive Leadership

Kim Kidwell

Kim Kidwell, Acting Dean

As acting dean since June, 2015, Dr. Kimberlee Kidwell leads the largest college in the WSU system. Her leadership is defined by dedication to improving student learning; driving sound, innovative research; and cultivating industry partnerships to improve the lives and livelihoods of the residents of Washington, in support of the land-grant mission of WSU.

Previously the executive associate dean for academic programs in the same college, Dr. Kidwell has guided efforts within CAHNRS to revamp classes to better serve students and their learning environment. She has spearheaded the development of the new WSU Center for Transformational Learning and Leadership, a student, faculty, alumni, and industry partner collaboration which provides beyond-the-classroom experiences for students and leadership development for graduate students and professionals.

Dr. Kidwell also excels in the classroom where she has developed and taught one of the most popular classes at WSU: Human Development 205. Using hands-on experiences, the course focuses on human behavior while cultivating communication and leadership skills. In addition, Dr. Kidwell also served for 15 years as the spring wheat breeder at WSU, developing more than a dozen successful wheat varieties for farmers in Washington.

Dr. Kidwell holds Master and Ph.D. degrees in plant breeding and plant genetics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, as well as two bachelor’s degrees in genetics and development and agriculture sciences from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Kidwell has been recognized with many honors and awards for her hard work in research, teaching, and leadership, including:

  • American Society of Agronomy Fellow (2012)
  • WSU Faculty Woman of Distinction (2012)
  • University College Awards, Washington State University (2010):
  • Assessment Leadership Award for Agricultural and Food Sciences Program
  • Assessment Leadership Award for Integrated Plant Sciences Program
  • Assessment Leadership Award for the College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences
  • Common Reading Excellence Award
  • Marian E. Smith Faculty Excellence Award, Washington State University (2005-2006)

Rich Koenig

Rich Koenig, Associate Dean and Director, WSU Extension

Dr. Koenig joined WSU in 2003 as a faculty member and soil scientist. In 2008, he became chair of the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, one of the largest departments in CAHNRS.

He became associate dean and director of WSU Extension on September 1, 2012.In this role he is responsible for administering outreach programs in agriculture, natural resources, community and economic development and youth and family areas and Extension’s 700+ employees and over 13,000 volunteers.

As a faculty member and chair, Dr. Koenig taught introductory courses in soil science and led research and extension programs in soil and nutrient management for agricultural systems in eastern Washington.

He led similar programs for agricultural and urban horticulture systems while an extension specialist at Utah State University from 1995-2003. He holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree from the University of Alaska-Fairbanks and a Ph.D. from WSU.

Jim Moyer

Jim Moyer, Associate Dean for Research and Director, Agricultural Research Center

A native of Dayton, WA., and an alumnus of WSU’s agronomy program-now called crop and soil sciences-Jim Moyer is slated to take up his roles at WSU on May 1, 2013. A renowned plant pathologist, Moyer has focused his research on virology – in particular, the population structure and dynamics of tospoviruses.

He has made contributions to sweet potato pathology and cultivar development, was awarded a patent for fingerprinting ornamental plant cultivars and is involved in numerous national and international activities.

He has served as president of the American Phytopathological Society and is a fellow of that group. He received the Morrison Medal from the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service and the Alex Laurie Award from the national floral crop industry for his research contributions.


The CAHNRS Leadership Team
The CAHNRS Leadership Team

How many varieties of wheat has WSU developed?



Sentence or two with more info about the subject.