Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Producers elected to new Pacific NW Canola Association

Producers and industry professionals check out canola specimens at a 2017 WOCS field day.

The recently formed Pacific Northwest Canola Association, which is supported by the WSU-based Washington Oilseed Cropping Systems Project, has elected 10 producer members from Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington to its board of directors.

Board members include Tim Dillin of Bonners Ferry, Idaho; Dale Flikkema of Belgrade, Mont.; Ray Mosman of Nezperce, Idaho; Don Nagy of Sunburst, Mont.; Randy Perkins of Athena, Ore.; Douglas Poole of Mansfield, Wash.; Anna Scharf of Amity, Ore.; Dennis Swinger of Lind, Wash.; Jon Walters of Walla Walla, Wash.; and Kyle Wasson of Whitewater, Mont.
Crop and Soil Sciences Extension & Outreach Specialist Karen Sowers has led the effort to found the association with assistance from Oregon canola producer Anna Scharf.

The association will create a united effort from Pacific Northwest canola growers, universities, agriculture industry and agencies to address legislative needs, generate additional canola research funding, and advance the region’s canola industry.

Registration is currently open for 2018 WOCS oilseed workshops. Learn more about the Washington Oilseed Cropping Systems Project at